2003 Jurors


Andrea Barrett is the author of two collections of short fiction, Ship Fever, which received the National Book Award, and Servants of the Map, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. She’s also the author of five novels, most recently The Voyage of the Narwhal. Currently a MacArthur Fellow, she was recently a Fellow at the Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library. She lives in Rochester, New York.

Percival Everett is the author of fifteen books, including Erasure, God’s Country, Watershed, and Glyph. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award and an Academy Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He has served as a judge for, among others, the 1997 National Book Award for fiction and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction in 1991. He is currently on the faculty of the University of Southern California.

Sue Miller is the author of a collection of short stories, Inventing the Abbotts: And Other Stories. She is also the author of several best-selling novels, including The Good Mother, Family Pictures, For Love, The Distinguished Guest, While I Was Gone, and The World Below, and was the editor for The Best American Short Stories, 2002. Her most recent book. The Story of My Father, is a work of nonfiction. A graduate of Harvard, she lives in Cambridge.