2000 Jurors


Will Blythe is the editor of the highly praised anthology. Why I Write: Thoughts on the Craft of Fiction. He was for many years the literary editor at Esquire. He is now a contributing editor to Harper’s and Mirabella, and writes for many other periodicals.

William H. Gass is the author of three novels, most recently, The Tunnel, two collections of stories, and three essay collections, two of which earned National Book Critics Circle Awards for Criticism, as well as On Being Blue and Reading Rilke. He is a Distinguished University Professor in Philosophy, emeritus, and helped found the International Writers Center, which he still directs at Washington University.

Francine Prose is the author of ten critically acclaimed novels, including Household Saints, Bigfoot Dreams, Primitive People, and Hunters and Gatherers, and two short story collections. Her newest novel is Blue Angel. Her stories, articles, and book reviews have appeared in most major magazines and journals. She is a regular contributor to The New York Times, The New York Observer and Newsday. She is the recipient of many grants and awards, including the Guggenheim and Fulbright Fellowships and a Pushcart Prize, and has taught at Harvard, Sarah Lawrence, the Breadloaf Writers’ Conference, and the Iowa Writer’s Workshop.