1997 Jurors


Andre Dubus has been committed to the short story as his primary form of fiction writing. His short story collections include Separate Flights, Adultery and Other Choices, Finding A Girl in America, The Times Are Never So Bad, The Last Worthless Evening, Selected Stories and Dancing After Hours. He has received the PEN/Malamud Award, the Jean Stein Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Boston Globe’s first annual Lawrence L.Winship Award and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts and the MacArthur Foundation. He was the winner of the 1996 Rea Award.

Cynthia Ozick is the author of short stories, essays, novels and a play. Her most recent collection of essays is Fame & Folly. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Her fiction and essays have appeared in numerous anthologies including Best American Short Stories and she has been awarded four O’Henry First Prizes for the Short Story. She was the first winner of the Rea Award in 1986. Her short story, Save MyChild, will appear in the next Best American Short Stories. The Puttermesser Papers, a novel, is forthcoming from Knopf in June 1997.

Tobias Wolff ’s three short story collections are In the Garden of the North American Martyrs, Back in the World and The Night in Question. He is the author of the novel, The Barracks Thief and of two memoirs, This Boy’s Life and In Pharao’s Army. His short stories have appeared in The Atlantic, Antaeus, Esquire, Granta, the New Yorker, Vanity Fair and other magazines, journals and anthologies in the U.S. and abroad. He is writer-in-residence at Syracuse University. His prizes include the Los Angeles Times Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award and the 1989 Rea Award for the Short Story.