1990 Jurors


Frank Conroy is Director of the Writer’s Workshop at the University of Iowa. Previously, he was Director of the Literature Program of the National Endowment for the Arts. He is the author of Stop-Time, nominated for the 1967 National Book Award and of Mid-Air, published in 1985. His short stories and articles have appeared in many magazines, including Esquire, Harper’s Magazine, the New York Times Magazine, Partisan Review, the New Yorker and in over a dozen anthologies.

Daniel Halpern is editor of Antaeus and The Ecco Press. He teaches in the graduate writing program of Columbia University. He is the author of six collections of poetry, including Tango, Seasonal Rights and Life Among Others. He has edited The American Poetry Anthology, Writers on Artists, On Nature and The Art of the Tale: An International Anthology of Short Stories.

Tobias Wolff, winner of the 1989 Rea Award for the Short Story, is writer-in-residence at Syracuse University. He is the author of two short-story collections, In the Garden of the North American Martyrs (1981) and Back in the World (1985). His novel, The Barracks Thief, was awarded the 1985 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. His memoir. This Boy’s Life, was published in 1989 to wide acclaim. His short stories have appeared in The Atlantic, Esquire, Vanity Fair, Antaeus and many other magazines, journals and anthologies in the U.S. and abroad.